Our Social Lives

Social life in physical therapy school is odd. I feel like I’ve known the people in my program for years. In reality, I just met them this summer.

My friends who are physical therapists warned me that PT school is like a black hole. You get lost in it. And it’s really hard to understand unless you’ve been through it yourself.

I’m in class with these people all day, every day. And when I’m not in class, I’m either studying with them or worrying about how I’m not studying with them. Even when we’re relaxing, we’re still talking about something funny that happened the other day in class or lab.  It sounds trite and stupid but it’s really hard to talk to normal people when you’ve been entrenched in this type of environment. This theory was very evident a few nights ago.

A group of us went out for a few drinks and significant others were invited. You know how sometimes you can really “hear” yourself talk when someone unfamiliar with the topic is around? A group of us were talking about dissecting the perineal region, and I realized how disgusting that sounded when I saw the look of suppressed, judgmental horror on a classmate’s wife’s face.

What? You’re not down with perineal skin and hair on your exam gloves?

Leave a comment

Filed under DPT1

Leave a Reply

